CROUS, CNOUS, CAF, YMCA…

1 Aug

Everyone has something that they are good at, be it painting or telling jokes or always being able to find a parking space. Similarly, everyone has something that they are bad at. For me, this something is being organised.

Chaque personne est forte en quelque chose, s’il est la peinture ou dire des blagues ou pouvoir toujours trouver une place dans des parkings. De la même, tout le monde est nul en quelque chose. Pour moi, c’est être organisée.

This is not to say that I can’t do it. I can. Every month or so, I get really ambitious and reorganise my entire room. I put my books in alphabetical order, I arrange my clothes from dark colours to light colours, I sift through my college notes and put them in labelled folders. I even mark off the days on the calendar. The problem is I just can’t seem to keep things organised. No matter how hard I try, after about a week everything descends into what my mother likes to call “organised chaos” once again. My wardrobe becomes a floordrobe, my notes are jammed into the nearest available space and college deadlines become more like guidelines. Keeping this in mind, I’m sure you can imagine how I feel about the mountain of paperwork I have to get through before I can move to France.

Ce ne veut dire pas que je ne peux pas le faire. Je peux. Presque chaque mois, je deviens assez ambiteuse et je réorganise ma chambre. Je mets tous mes livres en l’ordre alphabetique, je mets mes vêtements dans l’armoire des foncés aux légers, j’organise mes notes de l’université. Je même compte les jours sur le calendrierMais mes trucs ne restent jamais organisés – c’est le problème. Quoi que je fasse, après une semaine tout rétourne à être dans <<le chaos organisé>> comme ma mère s’appelle. Tous mes vêtements sont sur le plancher, toutes mes notes sont dispersées et des délais deviennent des directives. Etant donné ca, je suis certaine que vous pouvez imaginer mes pensées concernant la montagne de paperasse qu’il faut remplir avant que je puisse démenager en France.

And my oh my, how they love their paperwork in France. As I mentioned in a previous post, in order to apply for an assistantship I had to complete a twelve-page form, photocopy it three times, track down two copies of my birth cert and my most recent exam results, complete a medical evaluation and ask two of my lecturers to fill out a reference form for me. Now that I’ve been accepted to the programme, there’s even more paperwork lurking. The only problem is, I can’t understand it. Why? Because it’s all in acronyms!

Et tiens, comment on aime sa paperasse en France. Comment j’ai déjà dit dans un autre blog, pour demander un assistanat, il a fallu remplir un dossier de douze pages, le copier trois fois, trouver deux copies de mon certificat de naissance, remplir une évaluation médicale et demander à deux de mes profs de me donner une recommendation. Maintenant que j’ai le poste, il y a plus de paperasse qui m’attend. Le seule problème est que je ne le comprends pas. Pour quoi? Grâce aux acronymes!

Take trying to find housing, for example. I was told to talk to CROUS about CNOUS and to ask CAF if I’m eligible for APL. F1s are more suitable to my needs, or even BIS, but make sure that there’s TCC or at least TTC. And watch out for the FA.

Pour exemple, la cherche du logement. On m’a conseillé de parler à CROUS à propos de CNOUS et de demander à CAF si je peux recevoir APL. J’ai besoin d’un F1 ou un BIS,  mais demander s’il y a des TCC ou du moins des TTC. Et faites attention des FA.

Although I’m still not exactly sure what they stand for or what they do besides help with accommodation, the woman I rang about CROUS and CNOUS told me that generally these services are reserved for students. Seeing as I’m not going to be affiliated with any French university next year, I won’t be able to avail of them. CAF turned out to be something similar to the Irish welfare office and APL turned out to be a programme for subsidised rent. Due to my age and my monthly income, I qualify for it. Woo! F1s and BISs are types of studio apartments, and TCC means all charges are included but TTC means that taxes are covered. And FA are rental agency charges – normally around a month’s rent.

Bien que je ne saches pas toujours qui ils sont ou ce qu’ils faisent sauf aider des jeunes avec le logement, la femme à qui j’ai parlé de CROUS et CNOUS m’a dit que en général ces services sont dédies aux étudiants. Je ne vais pas à l’université l’année prochaine, donc je ne peux pas les utiliser. La CAF presque pareille au bureau d’aide social en Irlande et l’APL est un programme de loyer subventionné. A cause de mon âge et de mon salaire, je peux le recevoir. Woo! Les F1 et les BIS sont des types de studios, et TCC veut dire <<toutes charges comprises>> mais TTC veut dire <<toutes taxes comprises>>. Et les FA sont les frais d’agence – normalement un mois de loyer. 

So ever-so-slightly the wiser, I’ve been actively launching my quest for accommodation over the past few weeks. Here’s hoping I find something soon so that I can continue the acronym fun with banking, buying a mobile phone and getting the internet fixed up!

En savant un peu plus, je cherche un apartement depuis quelques semaines. J’espère trouver un bientot afin que je puisse apprendre des acronymes des bancs, des portables et d’internet!

Leave a comment