Assistants Are Go!

9 Oct

I’ve been reading back on this blog, and so far there’s really not that much to lead you to think that I’m here in France to work. In fact, you could be forgiven for thinking that I’ve been spending all my days drinking foreign tea and perving on the beautiful people that inhabit this so-called land of frogs. I only wish that were the case.

J’ai relu ce blog ce matin, et j’ai remarqué qu’il n’y avait beaucoup pour vous dire que je suis ici en France pour travailler. En fait, on pourrait vous pardonner de penser que je passais toutes mes journées en faisant rien sauf buvant du thé étranger et reluquant les beaux gens qui habitent dans ce soi-disant pays de grenouilles. Si seulement c’était la verité!

french grenouille Pictures, Images and Photos

I mentioned a while back that due to some administrative kinks in my college course, I ended up with a provisionally insane workload for this year. Thankfully, this has been somewhat reduced – to the tune of a minimum of 2,000 words a week, or 26,000 words per semester, to be submitted to an editor, with the goal of producing a publishable piece (for yours truly that means a novel) at the end of academic year. So far I’m ten thousand words in and managing to fight off the meltdown of “I never wanted to be a writer, I just like to write!” I’ve also been TEFLing my Irish derrière off by giving private English classes every weeknight in order to make enough money to live on until my first paycheque arrives. After Halloween, a weekly Spanish class will be added to the mix.

J’ai dit il y a quelque temps que grâce à quelques problèmes administratifs dans mes cours universitaires, on m’a donné une montagne de travail. Heureusement, cette montagne a été réduit – je dois écrire au moins 2.000 mots par semaine, ou 26.000 mots par semestre, pour les soumettre à un éditeur, avec le but d’avoir un oeuvre publiable (pour moi, ça veut dire un roman) à la fin de l’année scolaire. Jusqu’à présent j’ai écrit environ 10.o00 et j’ai réussi de lutter contre des crises de panique de << je n’ai jamais voulu etre écrivain, je veux seulement écrire! >>.  Je donne des cours particuliers d’anglais presque chaque soir de la semaine depuis mon arrivée en France pour gagner assez argent jusqu’à je reçois mon salaire. Après Toussaint, je devrai ajouter une classe hebdomadaire d’espagnol.

Yeah, yeah, that sounds great, says you, but what about the assistantship part of the deal? I signed up to read about you getting mobbed by French brats and instead I’m reading about how you’ve fecked off to Bordeaux for the weekend. What’s that all about?

Bé ouais, c’est genial, vous dites, et l’assistanat, alors? Je me suis inscrit à ce blog pour lire des histoires sur tes épreuves avec les petits moutards français et au lieu de ça je suis en train de lire ton blog sur ton séjour à Bordeaux. C’est pas juste!

les choristes Pictures, Images and Photos

Well, dear reader, up until last Monday, I was asking myself the same questions. Ever since I received my work contract at the end of July, my contact person had remained thoroughly uncontactable. My e-mails were ignored. The phone rang out. I was beginning to give up hope when at exactly half twelve on Monday morning, my little French portable sprang to life. “Rebecca?” asked the voice at the other end, “if you are still wishing to become an assistant, we need to meet in four hours. Goodbye.”

Bon, mon cher lecteur, jusqu’à lundi dernier, je me suis posée les mêmes questions. Jusqu’à j’ai reçu mon arrêté à la fin de juillet, mon responsable a resté hors de contacte. Mes e-mails étaient ignorés, mes appelles aussi. J’étais sur le point de devenir désepérée quand mon petit portable français a sonné. << Rebecca? >> la voix m’a demandé, << si vous voulez toujours etre assistante, il faut me rencontrer dans quatre heures. Au revoir. >>

Antique telephone Pictures, Images and Photos

The owner of this voice turned out to be my contact person, and once I met with her things finally started moving. And moving FAST. I finally met the other assistants and got to know them. By six o’clock Monday evening, I had been assigned my two primary schools (St. Germain and André Hammel, for you Google stalkers out there), told what levels I would be teaching (CPs to CM2s (6-11 year olds) inclusive – I have one class at every level), and given my timetable (Monday mornings and all day Fridays off! Could it be any better? Did I mention that French schools don’t open AT ALL on Wednesdays? Yes, I have the timetable of the gods).  On Tuesday, I introduced myself to my principals and met one or two of my classes. The children are adorable – let’s hope they stay that way when I’m teaching them!

La propriètaire de cette voix était mon responsable, et après je l’ai rencontrée les trucs ont commencé bouger. Et bouger VITE. J’ai finalement rencontré les autres assistants. A 18h00 lundi soir, j’ai su mes deux écoles (St. Germain et André Hammel, pour vous qui aimez chercher des trucs sur Google), les niveaux avec lequels je travaillerai (des CPs aux CM2s), et mon planning (pas de travail le lundi matin et le vendredi! Pourrait-il etre mieux? Les français ne vont pas du tout à l’école le mercredi! J’ai le planning d’ouf). Mardi, je me suis présentée aux directeurs de mes écoles et j’ai rencontré une ou deux de mes classes. Les enfants étaient trop mignons – j’espére qu’ils restent si sages quand je les enseigne!

classroom Pictures, Images and Photos

On Thursday it was direction Amiens to sign yet another mountain of paperwork. Unfortunately, due to the fact that I still don’t have a French bank account (the first proof of address my landlady gave me wasn’t filled in properly and despite asking for a new one on a weekly basis she has still yet to remember to give it to me), I will not receive an advance on my wages in October, and will instead have to wait until the end of November to be paid for my first two months of work. Fortunately, between my student grant and my English lessons I have enough money to keep me going, but I’m still a little disappointed that I won’t be able to take geeky photos with my first wage slip for another two months.

Jeudi, direction Amiens pour signer une autre montagne de papiers. Malheureusement, étant donné que je n’ai pas encore un compte bancaire français (la première attestation du logement que ma propriètaire m’a donnée n’était pas correcte et malgré mes demandes pour une autre, elle ne me l’a donnée encore), je ne recevrai pas une avance sur mon salaire à la fin d’octobre, mais je devrais attendre à la fin de novembre pour recevoir mon salaire pour les deux mois ensemble. Heuresement, grâce à ma bourse universitaire et aux cours particuliers j’ai assez argent pour vivre, mais je suis un peu deçue que je ne pourrai pas prendre des photos avec ma feuille de paie ce mois. 

The afternoon in Amiens was spent giving us assistants a quick pedagogical workshop. The speaker was a woman in a designer suit, with impeccably styled hair and a mouth set in a thin, grim line. She walked up to the podium, introduced herself, and proceeded to tell us that in order to be successful in our work we would need to encourage the children to…play games! Colouring, singing, dancing, board games, musical statues and more are all acceptable ways to teach English to small children. I think I may have gotten the best job on the planet.

L’après-midi à Amiens était passé en nous donnant un petit atelier pédagogique. La conférencière était une femme qui portait un tailleur chic, avec les cheveux coiffés et une bouche sérieuse. Elle a marché jusqu’à l’estrade et elle nous a dit que pour réussir dans notre travail il faut éncourager les enfants de…jouer! Faire des coloriages, chanter, danser, jouer des board games et plus sont toutes des activités parfaites pour enseigner l’anglais aux petits. Je crois que j’ai le meilleur post du monde.

Tomorrow is my official first day of work. So after almost three months of being live on the internet, my blog will finally see its first update on life as an assistant sometime next week. Or at least it will if I survive!

Je vais commencer à travailler officiellement demain. Après presque trois mois sur l’internet, mon blog va finalement voir son premier extrait sur la vie d’une assistante pendant la semaine prochaine. Pourvu que je survive!

2 Responses to “Assistants Are Go!”

  1. Nuala Ní Chonchúir October 14, 2011 at 13:56 #

    Congrats on the jammy timetable – I hope the kids are good for you. I bet they are adorable looking – I nearly trip over myself in Paris when I see lines of kiddies out for a walk with their teachers. Cuteness out the wazoo!

    p.s. You ARE a writer 🙂

    • Becca October 14, 2011 at 18:27 #

      Thanks, I was fairly impressed with it myself! As soon as I get paid I plan to ravel to some different part of France with my lovely long weekends :). They children are way too cute here, all big eyes and big smiles. I want to adopt all of my students already :P.

Leave a comment